Earth is home to a huge story that is rarely told - that of our ocean. Not the fish or the dolphins, but the massive ocean engine itself- what it does, why it works, and the many ways it has influenced animals, weather and human history & culture.
This book brings together all the work in a new field of physics, the chaos theory, an extension of classical mechanics. The author shows how computers have been able to help researchers, by mapping the whole plane of solutions of non-linear equations.
Winner of the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1965, Richard Feynman was also a man who fell, often jumped, into adventure - as artist, safe-cracker, practical joker and storyteller. This self-portrait has been compiled from taped conversations with his friend Ralph Leighton.
A physicist explains daily phenomena from the mundane to the magisterial. Take a look up at the stars on a clear night and you get a sense that the universe is vast and untouchable, full of mysteries beyond comprehension. But did you know that the key to unveiling the secrets of the cosmos is as close as the nearest toaster?
A classic work of psychology, this international bestseller provides a groundbreaking insight into the human mind.If a man has lost a leg or an eye, he knows he has lost a leg or an eye; but if he has lost a self - himself - he cannot know it, because he is no longer there to know it.
'We spend our whole lives in one body and yet most of us have practically no idea how it works and what goes on inside it.
The idea of the book is simply to try to understand the extraordinary contraption that is us.
From the creator of the wildly popular xkcd.com, hilarious and informative answers to important questions you probably never thought to ask
Everyone has their own 'bad science' moments, encompassing everything from the useless pie charts on the back of cereal boxes to the use of the word 'visibly' in cosmetics adverts. Full of spleen, Ben Goldacre takes the reader on a hilarious, invigorating and informative journey through the world of bad science.
Uncle Tungsten radiates all the delight and wonder of a boy's adventures, and is an unforgettable portrait of an extraordinary young mind. Oliver Sacks evokes, with warmth and wit, his upbringing in wartime England.
 |
 |
As the summer holidays approach, it is useful to think about what you can do to start next year on the front foot and ensure that you are heading in the right direction for the grade you deserve next summer. To help focus your mind a little, you will all sit a test at the start of next year. It will be on this year’s content and completed in a double period. For those who wish to improve your UCAS grade, this is also a chance for you to show what progress you have made.
All of you should aim to do a little consolidation and revision over the long summer break but it is up to you to decide how much and at what intensity. At the least, you should all aim to have a go at some AS papers (paper copies will be provided by your teacher or can be taken from the large grey cabinet outside Rm 13 (please close the door after you have taken what you need!)). Mark schemes can be found by Googling (e.g. ‘AQA AS Level Chemistry P2 2017 mark scheme’). You should also aim to use your textbook and other resources (such as revision guides/ workbooks) to help. Below are a few web links that may also be useful (make sure you select ‘AQA’, where possible):
Freesciencelessons – most of you will know this from GCSE. He has now done some A Level videos
Knockhardy – notes, PowerPoints, revision and multiple choice questions
Physics and Maths Tutor – lots of resources and past papers.
Chemguide – top quality notes produced by an ex-Truro School teacher!
Boomer Chemistry – The Complete Chemistry Tutor – small cost but looks very good.
UCAS Preparation:
Whilst the first priority is to ensure you get the grade you need for university, alongside your consolidation work you should be aiming to explore your academic subjects beyond the curriculum. Firstly, and most importantly, this will inform your choice of university course and ensure that you know what options lie ahead. However, it is also an important part of how you maximise the impact of your personal statement and university application, more generally. For Chemistry related subjects, the following are good resources:
Gale offers a variety of resources for education, lifelong learning, and academic research. Whether you are looking for peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts, Gale puts the right vetted content and tools at your fingertips! Includes the following databases: Environmental Studies, Global Issues, Opposing Viewpoints, Science, Literature Resource Centre.
To login click on:
Hodder’s Magazine eLibraries will give you the edge you need to achieve your best grades. Each digital magazine contains topical articles, cutting-edge research, and brand-new case studies, all written by subject experts. This helps you to deepen subject knowledge, develop independent learning skills, and engage with challenging material.
Hodder’s Magazine eLibraries will give you the edge you need to achieve your best grades. Each digital magazine contains topical articles, cutting-edge research, and brand-new case studies, all written by subject experts. This helps you to deepen subject knowledge, develop independent learning skills, and engage with challenging material.
A-Level: Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Economics, English, Modern World History, , PE, Physics, Politics, Psychology, and Sociology.
To login click on:
Access Infobase Research Databases: History Research Center, Blooms Literature Online, Modern World History, Science Online, and World Religions.
To login:
Username: Truro
Password: digital
PressReader provides interactive, digital access to nearly 7,000 of the world’s best newspapers and magazines. Just like reading a print edition, viewers can browse articles and other key elements, including pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices. With the ability to perform keyword searches across all titles, and save both stories and full publications, researchers are sure to find the stories they’re looking for.
For login details see:
Are you an English and History student? Want to improve your grades? Connell Guides provide unlimited access from home or school to an online library of GCSE and A Level study guides providing help with:- understanding set texts, revision tools, textual analysis, annotations, exam and pocket guides, other helpful resources, suggested podcasts etc.
To login:
Username: Truro School
Password: truroschool123
Gale offers a variety of resources for education, lifelong learning, and academic research. Whether you are looking for peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts, Gale puts the right vetted content and tools at your fingertips! Includes the following databases: Environmental Studies, Global Issues, Opposing Viewpoints, Science, Literature Resource Centre.
To login click on:
Hodder’s Magazine eLibraries will give you the edge you need to achieve your best grades. Each digital magazine contains topical articles, cutting-edge research, and brand-new case studies, all written by subject experts. This helps you to deepen subject knowledge, develop independent learning skills, and engage with challenging material.
Hodder’s Magazine eLibraries will give you the edge you need to achieve your best grades. Each digital magazine contains topical articles, cutting-edge research, and brand-new case studies, all written by subject experts. This helps you to deepen subject knowledge, develop independent learning skills, and engage with challenging material.
A-Level: Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Economics, English, Modern World History, , PE, Physics, Politics, Psychology, and Sociology.
To login click on:
Access Infobase Research Databases: History Research Center, Blooms Literature Online, Modern World History, Science Online, and World Religions.
To login:
Username: Truro
Password: digital
Issues Online provide PSHE resources for teachers, students, parents and librarians. We use images, graphs, infographics, videos and glossaries to help students and teachers understand information covering a wide range of PSHE subjects, KS4 topics, lessons and social issues.
Issues Online includes:
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR will help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform.
To login click on:
How to use JSTOR (opens in new tab). For video tutorial click on the image below.
PressReader provides interactive, digital access to nearly 7,000 of the world’s best newspapers and magazines. Just like reading a print edition, viewers can browse articles and other key elements, including pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices. With the ability to perform keyword searches across all titles, and save both stories and full publications, researchers are sure to find the stories they’re looking for.
For login details see:
Cornwall Library provides members free access to a wide range of online resources from books and music to magazines and research information. All you need is your Library Borrower's Card!
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research
SweetSearch is a Search Engine for Students
Since 2009, SweetSearch has been the best place for students - and anyone else - to begin their research. It leverages Google to search only a fully vetted "whitelist" of websites. The original index was created by 50+ librarians, educators and researchers who collectively invested over 100,000 hours in finding the best resources
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks. Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related content today.
