The mysteries of how Shakespeare lived, whom and how he loved, how he worked, how he produced some of the greatest and most abidingly popular works in the history of world literature and drama, have fascinated readers for centuries.
This concise, crystalline book conjures illuminating insights to reveal Shakespeare as he was.
From the acclaimed and bestselling biographer Jonathan Bate, a luminous new exploration of Shakespeare and how his themes can untangle comedy and tragedy, learning and loving in our modern lives. 'The web of our life is of a mingled yarn, good and ill together.' How does one survive the death of a loved one, the mess of war, the experience of being schooled, of falling in love, of growing old, of losing your mind? Shakespeare's world is never too far different from our own 'permeated with the same tragedies, the same existential questions and domestic worries.
emagazine login details
Username: Truro School Password: english
Terry Eagleton reflects on the lives and work of T. S. Eliot, I. A. Richards, William Empson, F. R. Leavis, and Raymond Williams, and explores a vital tradition of literary criticism that today is in danger of being neglected.
These five critics rank among the most original and influential of modern times and represent one of the most remarkable intellectual formations in twentieth-century Britain.
Often the ideas that literature wants to teach aren't new. They might have been around for a long time, but we need reminding of them. That's why we need great stories to keep on beaming wise ideas intoour brains. Big Ideas from Literature is about finding out the wise ideas that lots of different books (some of them very surprising) are trying to teach via a story - and discovering how these ideas can help children develop empathy and resilience.
Using the Big Ideas series' trademark combination of clear explanation, witty infographics, and inspirational quotes, The Poetry Book unlocks the key ideas, themes, imagery, and structural techniques behind even the most complex of poems, in clear and simple terms, setting each work in its historical, social, cultural, and literary context.
In this multi-award-winning book, Alexandra Harris tells a different story. In the 1930s and 1940s, artists and writers explored what it meant to be alive in England. Eclectically, passionately, wittily, they showed that 'the modern' need not be at war with the past.
From a standout scholar, a sparkling and very modern biography of John Donne: the poet of love, sex, and death. John Donne lived myriad lives. Sometime religious outsider and social disaster, sometime celebrity preacher and establishment darling, John Donne was incapable of being just one thing.
Jane Austen is one of England's greatest and best-loved novelists, whose works are still widely read and enjoyed nearly two hundred years after her death.
Memories of Jane were increasingly recorded as her reputation and fame grew in the nineteenth century. This is the life of Jane in the words of the people who knew her; it provides a fascinating insight into her life as a member of a close, loving family and her works as a novelist.
Are you an English and History student? Want to improve your grades? Connell Guides provide unlimited access from home or school to an online library of GCSE and A Level study guides providing help with:- understanding set texts, revision tools, textual analysis, annotations, exam and pocket guides, other helpful resources, suggested podcasts etc.
To login:
Username: Truro School
Password: truroschool123
Gale offers a variety of resources for education, lifelong learning, and academic research. Whether you are looking for peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts, Gale puts the right vetted content and tools at your fingertips! Includes the following databases: Environmental Studies, Global Issues, Opposing Viewpoints, Science, Literature Resource Centre.
To login click on:
Hodder’s Magazine eLibraries will give you the edge you need to achieve your best grades. Each digital magazine contains topical articles, cutting-edge research, and brand-new case studies, all written by subject experts. This helps you to deepen subject knowledge, develop independent learning skills, and engage with challenging material.
Hodder’s Magazine eLibraries will give you the edge you need to achieve your best grades. Each digital magazine contains topical articles, cutting-edge research, and brand-new case studies, all written by subject experts. This helps you to deepen subject knowledge, develop independent learning skills, and engage with challenging material.
A-Level: Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Economics, English, Modern World History, , PE, Physics, Politics, Psychology, and Sociology.
To login click on:
Access Infobase Research Databases: History Research Center, Blooms Literature Online, Modern World History, Science Online, and World Religions.
To login:
Username: Truro
Password: digital
Issues Online provide PSHE resources for teachers, students, parents and librarians. We use images, graphs, infographics, videos and glossaries to help students and teachers understand information covering a wide range of PSHE subjects, KS4 topics, lessons and social issues.
Issues Online includes:
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR will help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform.
To login click on:
How to use JSTOR (opens in new tab). For video tutorial click on the image below.
PressReader and Borrowbox together provide interactive, digital access to nearly 7,000 of the world’s best newspapers and magazines. Just like reading a print edition, viewers can browse articles and other key elements, including pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices. With the ability to perform keyword searches across all titles, and save both stories and full publications, researchers are sure to find the stories they’re looking for.
For login details see:
Cornwall Library provides members free access to a wide range of online resources from books and music to magazines and research information. All you need is your Library Borrower's Card!
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research
SweetSearch is a Search Engine for Students
Since 2009, SweetSearch has been the best place for students - and anyone else - to begin their research. It leverages Google to search only a fully vetted "whitelist" of websites. The original index was created by 50+ librarians, educators and researchers who collectively invested over 100,000 hours in finding the best resources
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks. Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related content today.
