Truro School Library: DATABASES & E-RESOURCES

Gale offers a variety of resources for education, lifelong learning, and academic research. Whether you are looking for peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts, Gale puts the right vetted content and tools at your fingertips! Includes the following databases: Environmental Studies, Global Issues, Opposing Viewpoints, Science, Literature Resource Centre.

To login click on:

Hodder’s Magazine eLibraries will give you the edge you need to achieve your best grades. Each digital magazine contains topical articles, cutting-edge research, and brand-new case studies, all written by subject experts. This helps you to deepen subject knowledge, develop independent learning skills, and engage with challenging material.

Hodder’s Magazine eLibraries will give you the edge you need to achieve your best grades. Each digital magazine contains topical articles, cutting-edge research, and brand-new case studies, all written by subject experts. This helps you to deepen subject knowledge, develop independent learning skills, and engage with challenging material.

A-Level: Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Economics, English, Modern World History, , PE, Physics, Politics, Psychology, and Sociology.

To login click on:

Access Infobase Research Databases: History Research Center, Blooms Literature Online, Modern World History, Science Online, and World Religions.

To login:

Username: Truro

Password: digital

Issues Online provide PSHE resources for teachers, students, parents and librarians. We use images, graphs, infographics, videos and glossaries to help students and teachers understand information covering a wide range of PSHE subjects, KS4 topics, lessons and social issues.

Issues Online includes:

1. Articles, facts, videos and activity ideas for over 70 PSHE subjects
2. Over 7,000 individual articles
3. PSHE Teaching Resources
4. eBook versions of the popular Issues series
5. Library Resources
6. Glossary                                                                                    NO FURTHER LOGIN REQUIRED

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR will help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform.

To login click on:

How to use JSTOR (opens in new tab). For video tutorial click on the image below. 

PressReader  and Borrowbox together provide interactive, digital access to nearly 7,000 of the world’s best newspapers and magazines. Just like reading a print edition, viewers can browse articles and other key elements, including pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices. With the ability to perform keyword searches across all titles, and save both stories and full publications, researchers are sure to find the stories they’re looking for.

For login details see: 

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research

SweetSearch is a Search Engine for Students

Since 2009, SweetSearch has been the best place for students - and anyone else - to begin their research. It leverages Google to search only a fully vetted "whitelist" of websites. The original index was created by 50+ librarians, educators and researchers who collectively invested over 100,000 hours in finding the best resources

• It helps users find outstanding information, faster.
• It enables them to determine the most relevant results from a list of credible resources, and makes it much easier for them to find primary sources.
• We exclude not only obvious spam sites, but also marginal sites that read well, but lack academic or journalistic rigor.
• As importantly, the very best Web sites that are often buried on other search engines appear on the first page of SweetSearch results.

Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks. Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related content today.