LibGuides: Truro School Library: DATABASES and E-RESOURCES

Connell Guides

Connell Guides: GCSE and A Level English & History Resources This link opens in a new window Are you an English and History student? Want to improve your grades? Connell Guides provide unlimited access from home or school to an online library of GCSE and A Level study guides providing help with:- understanding set texts, revision tools, textual analysis, annotations, exam and pocket guides, other helpful resources, suggested podcasts etc. To login:Username: Truro SchoolPassword: truroschool123

Username: Truro School

Password: truroschool123

Gale Research Databases

Gale Research Databases This link opens in a new window Gale offers a variety of resources for education, lifelong learning, and academic research. Whether you are looking for peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts, Gale puts the right vetted content and tools at your fingertips! Includes the following databases: Environmental Studies, Global Issues, Opposing Viewpoints, Science, Literature Resource Centre.To login click on:

To login click on:

Hodder Education Magazines

Hodder Education Magazines: A Level Review Series This link opens in a new window Hodder’s Magazine eLibraries will give you the edge you need to achieve your best grades. Each digital magazine contains topical articles, cutting-edge research, and brand-new case studies, all written by subject experts. This helps you to deepen subject knowledge, develop independent learning skills, and engage with challenging material.Hodder’s Magazine eLibraries will give you the edge you need to achieve your best grades. Each digital magazine contains topical articles, cutting-edge research, and brand-new case studies, all written by subject experts. This helps you to deepen subject knowledge, develop independent learning skills, and engage with challenging material.A-Level: Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Economics, English, Modern World History, , PE, Physics, Politics, Psychology, and Sociology.To login click on:

To login click on:

Infobase Research Databases

Infobase Research Databases This link opens in a new window Access Infobase Research Databases: History Research Center, Blooms Literature Online, Modern World History, Science Online, and World Religions.To login:Username: TruroPassword: digital

Username: Truro

Password: digital

Issues Online

Issues Online This link opens in a new window Issues Online provide PSHE resources for teachers, students, parents and librarians. We use images, graphs, infographics, videos and glossaries to help students and teachers understand information covering a wide range of PSHE subjects, KS4 topics, lessons and social issues.Issues Online includes:Articles, facts, videos and activity ideas for over 70 PSHE subjectsOver 7,000 individual articlesPSHE Teaching ResourceseBook versions of the popular Issues seriesLibrary ResourcesGlossary                                                                                    NO FURTHER LOGIN REQUIRED

JSTOR

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR will help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform.To login click on:How to use JSTOR (opens in new tab). For video tutorial click on the image below.

To login click on:

How to use JSTOR (opens in new tab).

Pressreader

Pressreader & BorrowBox This link opens in a new window PressReader  and Borrowbox together provide interactive, digital access to nearly 7,000 of the world’s best newspapers and magazines. Just like reading a print edition, viewers can browse articles and other key elements, including pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices. With the ability to perform keyword searches across all titles, and save both stories and full publications, researchers are sure to find the stories they’re looking for.For login details see: Signing in to Cornwall's e-Library Resources

Signing in to PressReader

The Library subscribes to a wealth of resources, all free to use and you can access most of them from home. Here are our databases - and other resources - that can help with homework, research and more. Remember, books aren’t the only place to find reliable information!

Cornwall County Libraries: Your Online Library

Cornwall County Libraries: Your Online Library Cornwall Library provides members free access to a wide range of online resources from books and music to magazines and research information. Everything from books to e-Books, online magazines, newspapers and audio books. All FREE with your Cornwall Libraries Membership!

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Newspapers for Schools

Newspapers for Schools The Newspapers for Schools ‘News Library’ database allows teachers and students to find newspaper articles as a PDF cutting or full page exactly as it was printed. The service offers the most efficient way of getting newspapers into the classroom whilst fully respecting copyright. News Library contains over 35 million newspaper articles from over 150 UK national and regional newspaper titles, from 2006 to present day.

SweetSearch

SweetSearch This link opens in a new window SweetSearch is a Search Engine for StudentsSince 2009, SweetSearch has been the best place for students - and anyone else - to begin their research. It leverages Google to search only a fully vetted "whitelist" of websites. The original index was created by 50+ librarians, educators and researchers who collectively invested over 100,000 hours in finding the best resourcesIt helps users find outstanding information, faster.It enables them to determine the most relevant results from a list of credible resources, and makes it much easier for them to find primary sources.We exclude not only obvious spam sites, but also marginal sites that read well, but lack academic or journalistic rigor.As importantly, the very best Web sites that are often buried on other search engines appear on the first page of SweetSearch results.

Wikipedia

Wikipedia Wikipedia's purpose is to benefit readers by presenting information on all branches of knowledge. Hosted by the Wikimedia Foundation, it consists of freely editable content, whose articles also have numerous links to guide readers to more information.

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works, as well as to "encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks." It was founded in 1971 by American writer Michael S. Hart and is the oldest digital library. Most of the items in its collection are the full texts of books or individual stories in the public domain. All files can be accessed for free under an open format layout, available on almost any computer. As of 13 February 2024, Project Gutenberg had reached 70,000 items in its collection of free eBooks.